Skip to content

Glaciers Galore!!!!

February 15, 2011

It’s been a while since our last camping trip and I’m getting ITCHY!!!

Apparently the bugs attack me when I’m NOT in their wild realm…or it’s just mange.

Luckily, there has never been a report or an instance of a glacier undergoing acariasis.  So, one day on a camping trip too long ago, Matt and I hiked from Old Devil’s Postpile to a place called The Minarets.  (Not the Minotaur, The Minarets…but could you imagine?!?!?!  Yikes!) 

The Minarets are about a 6.5 mile hike one way, plus about 2 miles worth of hiking and exploring we did once there.  That’s right.  We hiked about 15 miles in one day!  And it’s not like you’re just walking down a road.  You’re hiking up, you’re hiking down…you’re starting, you’re stopping…you’re freezing, you’re sweating…you’re hungry, you’re more hungry…BUT!  One thing you’re NEVER feeling is any sense of regret.  I mean, how can you when THIS is your end result:

Not to mention, THIS:

SO, without further ado, I present to you,

THE MINARETS FORMULA FOR WASHBOARD ABS!!!

* Wake up at 5:30 a.m. and get ready for your hike.

* Pack a back pack such as this women’s Lowe Alpine backpack with all kinds of necessary goodies such as:  and a to hold the yummy glacier river water you pump into it using a water filter such as this MSR Miniworks portable water filter throughout your hike.  Our Nalgene, BPA-free water bottle comfortably screws into the bottom of the filter for a secure transfer.

* You’ll also want to make sure you are wearing a good pair of hiking boots, such as these lovely Vasque women’s hiking boots with a sole.

* And you might as well pack some of this in sandwich form.  You’ll need your protein since you’ll be gaining about 2,330 feet in elevation.  (Devil’s Postpile at 7,500 ft. + 2,330 ft. gain = Minaret Lake at 9,830 ft.!)  YUM!!!

* Dress yourself in layers that will keep you warm enough in the morning (in our case, it was about 28 degrees) but that you can shed for your afternoon sweat and stuff into your backpack.  But don’t over layer in the morning either!  I made the mistake of wearing too many layers in the morning, instead of toughing through the initial cold and by the time we climbed the first ridge only 20 minutes after we started, I had to stop and take off my jacket and 2 thick sweaters…this in turn became added weight into my already full backpack.  Not fun.  Luckily I had Matt and he wore the back pack the whole hike up to the Minarets.

* And finally, hike your a** off!

6:30 a.m. and into the woods we go!

A beautiful example of how glaciers pressured and polished granite rocks into this smooth surface thousands of years ago.

A tranquil clearing.

Almost there!

It looks tame from this angle, but this last bit was a tiny struggle of a climb mentally and physically.  I could see the tips of the minarets, but I couldn’t move any faster because of the elevation and the burning in my lungs and thighs…and I wasn’t even wearing a back pack!  Matt totally whipped me on this hike…yep, no surprise there.

I love this tree…but I really stopped to take its picture because I NEEDED A BREAK!!!!!!

FINALLY!!!!!!  ACK!!!!  FINALLY!!!!!!!!!  WE’RE THERE!!!!  I MADE IT!  I MADE IT!!!

Summer on the mountain tops.

But now it’s time for some glacier FUN!!!…

Can you find Matt in this picture?

There he is!  Just chillin’ on a glacier…but you know me…

I gotta be all DRAMATIC!

(I was re-enacting the trash compactor scene from STAR WARS…)

Unfortunately, Matt and I did not plan to spend the night, so it soon became time to leave this…

and to return to this:

All in all, it took us 4 hours to hike up and only 2 hours to hike back down.  We spent a solid 3 hours at the top.  Totally worth a day hike, but it’s more ideal for camping.  And YES, there will be a next time…especially since at this point, I am not so far removed from this:

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. DavidS permalink
    February 17, 2011 2:30 pm

    1. The photos are gorgeous.
    2. Are those really your abs? I suspect not–not in any of the several cases where abs are displayed.
    3. How the h— are you still able to get your foot near your mouth???? Only babies can do this easily. I think it proves that you’re still young at heart. And just as gorgeous as ever. Keep on hikin’!

  2. Jasmin Jetton permalink
    March 5, 2011 9:13 pm

    Alisa!!!! Wow like your blogging! Contact me by email if u like…

Leave a Reply

