Skip to content

Redcats and Swords…

December 4, 2010

AH!  The Theatre!  There is nothing quite like it…and it had been a while for me.  Three years.  Yep…three years away from rumbling, butterfly belly and antiperspirant/deodorant resistant armpits.  Three years away from waking up in a stabbing panic, thinking you’ve missed your call time and/or the whole show…three years away from not being a slave to the bathroom before every show.  You know what I’m talkin’ about!

And I missed it…so much!

I didn’t realize how badly I missed it until the first day of rehearsals.  With my first step onto the fabulous REDCAT stage, I was thrown into a vortex!  Remembering more “ME” moments on stage than M. Night Shyamalan has had in his movies!  Here, let me share just a tiny few with you.

The Nutcracker as "Spanish"...obviously...

The Nutcracker ~ "Snow Princess"...what? Did someone say PRINCESS?

Cinderella ~ "Summer Fairy"

The Vagina Monologues...obviously...

REPO!...obviously?...

 

Suzuki music at the local mall...

If only I had more pictures from yesteryear to share with you, but alas, they were all taken on actual film and the photos are with the family for safe-keeping.  Probably a good thing…I mean, look at how I’m terrorizing my own blog with them!

 

 

 

 

 

 

ENOUGH OF THAT and BACK TO THIS!

The best of this entire experience, wasn’t actually getting back on stage…it was the collaborative, creative work we all poured into it…And we only had one week to pour ourselves into it!  One week to rehearse a show that would traditionally take one month of daily rehearsals to be ready.  But it’s theatre and one hardly ever feels “READY” on opening day.  And true to theatre form, nothing had gone right during our tech rehearsals that morning…that’s right, I said, “tech rehearsals THAT MORNING.”  Sound familiar, my fellow thespians?  It might be familiar theatre territory, but it’s never comfortable!  However, I think that common sense of foreboding is what makes everyone involved stand extra tall and remain extra balanced.  Because the moment the shit hits the fan, you better figure out a way to clean it up without anyone in the audience even noticing a breeze.  No matter what, the show must go on, and it will.  It’s as simple as that.

And true to theatre form, everything fell into place the moment the show started.  All the sounds, lighting, reading and shadows were spot-on!  Our sold-out, first show of the evening was so successful, quite a few people who came to the first show stayed to watch the second show.

To sum it up, we were amazing.  If you weren’t there, you seriously missed out.

Luckily, there are YOU TUBE postings galore!  One set includes the fantastic shadows created by the brilliant shadow-caster, Christine Marie.  Throughout it all is an impeccably haunting sound design by John Zalewski.  Of course, NONE of this experience would have been possible without the genius of Mark Z. Danielewski!

I hope we have more chances to perform this work of art in, “…away and far places where faces are different and songs cradle words neither you nor I have ever heard.”The Fifty Year Sword by Mark Z. Danielewski

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Alexis permalink
    December 4, 2010 8:53 pm

    Hahaha. I think I have some of those pics from “yesteryear” I could share 😉

  2. Jasmin Jetton permalink
    March 5, 2011 9:19 pm

    Omg!!! I remember seeing u in the nutcracker!!! Across from lynchburg general 😉

Leave a Reply

