Skip to content

A WINTER RECAP #1: LAKE TAHOE, NV

March 26, 2010

If the year of 1816 is known as The Year Without A Summer, then Los Angeles should be known as The City of Continual Summer.  (Like how I made that disparate connection?  And don’t you DARE do any word-play with the word “desperate”!)  The first year I lived here, it was wondrous.  I never had to worry about freezing temperatures, wind-chill factors or trying to knock ice off my wiper blades. Then I realized I lived in a bubble.  A big, filthy, smog-infused bubble.  I missed feeling and smelling the whispery changes in the air that signaled the coming of a different season.  So last year, I decided to make the least of the LA winter and head to colder territories whenever possible.

LAKE TAHOE, NV

The glorious beauty of Lake Tahoe was where my first foray into the frigid digits occurred.  Matt’s best friend needed a pianist for his wedding and I needed a reason to continue owning a tuque.  Jack Frost my boy, HERE I COME!!!!!

BEHOLD AND WITNESS THE BEAUTY OF LAKE TAHOE

See how clean and pure the water is!

Lake Tahoe is the 2nd deepest body of water in the United States and it never freezes.

Crater Lake in Oregon holds the #1 spot by only 300 ft.

AFTER THIS:

THERE WAS MORE OF THIS:

Emerald Bay

Matt at the Eagle Falls Trailhead.  We decided to have fun in the snow and go on a short hike.  Little did we know…

…the clouds were starting to gang up on us!…

…along with the mountains!

Beautiful Eagle Lake nestled below Maggie’s Peaks.

The top of the mountain.

A snow-crusted Eagle Lake from above and below.

And that’s it for this edition of  A WINTER RECAP!!!!!

Stay tuned for A WINTER RECAP #2: RENO, NV

One Comment leave one →
  1. Peaches permalink
    March 26, 2010 6:38 pm

    Wow it’s gorgeous. I could *almost* miss it– though I just moved to LA from about an hour and a half’s drive from Tahoe. Snow. Not my friend.
    Still– awesome pictures, and it looks like you had fun!

Leave a Reply

