Skip to content

FLY FISHING! or, WHY YOU CAN CALL ME AN ANGLER.

August 21, 2009

So, I am addicted to something I NEVER thought I would even remotely like…

FLY FISHING.

I used to shun the sport of fishing because I thought it was BORING and ridiculous.

Only rednecks and people with NOTHING ELSE TO DO did this.

Bitch slap me now.

My tutelage began when Mr. Matthew Michaelsen mentioned he could fly fish. (reference below)

matt fly fish

I immediately thought of A River Runs Through It. I remembered seeing this movie a long time ago and how the water sparkled, the line whipped and Brad Pitt glowed. šŸ˜‰

But honestly, I loved the fluidity of the motion and how graceful and beautiful it looked. I wanted to learn how to recreate that movement and one 15-minute lesson led to a weekend in Mammoth Lakes, CA.

team am mammothI didn’t hook the mammoth, but Matt hooked me!

Before hitting Mammoth Lakes, we stopped at this GORGEOUS lake called Convict Lake. See below.

alisa convict lake

The nomenclature of Convict Lake is a fascinating, wild west tale! (It was also a site used in the film Star Trek: Insurrection)

Below is a lovely video of myself and my prepubescent casting skillz…

The NEXT day, we hit the San Joaquin River nestled in the San Joaquin Valley. We started at Devil’s Postpile and worked our way upstream to Minaret Falls. Wading through the chilly glacier water wearing only leggings, thick socks, hiking SANDALS and 2 shirts was a dream come true! Yes, it was cold and yes, I was wading through a riverbed in sandals…but I felt so completely in my element!!!! I was reminded of swimming in rivers and playing in creeks as a child and how the time for that slipped away as I grew older.

NOW AT LAST, IT IS MINE AGAIN!!!!!!

My first day on the river and I CAUGHT 3 TROUT!!!!! Below is a pic of my first one! He’s a brown trout.

netted troutMy first trout.

alisa troutSay trout, are you about a size 14?

letting goNope. He’s only about a size 4 or 5.

Needless to say, I’m hooked. I’m basically one step away from becoming a mermaid…
Plans are in the making for another fly fishing venture. Stay tuned and enjoy the scenic tidbits below!

convict lake matt

river bend

alisa river fishing

drying out

Drying out.

pool

fault lineA fault line!!!

alisa faultlineTempting the fault line.

elkAn elk!!! We heard his bugle!

viewThe scenery.

view2

view3

view4

view5

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2009 7:07 pm

    I can see a national commercial in your future. Throw fly fishing on your special skills list.

    Looks like a fantastic experience.

  2. Dixie permalink
    August 21, 2009 8:41 pm

    I am no mermaid. I am no mermaid. I am no fisherman’s slave. – (just remembered this song when I read this entry. Must play it for you!
    I’m so glad you guys are enjoying the peace and beauty of our fair state. Viva la Fishing!

  3. Cindy permalink
    September 21, 2009 2:40 pm

    That area is so gorgeous! And I remember that lake from Star Trek *geek* šŸ˜‰

Trackbacks

  1. A WINTER RECAP #2: RENO, NV or SNOWED IN AT THE AIRPORT « A to tha B : Rare to Share

Leave a Reply

