Skip to content

REPO! THE GENETIC OPERA

January 5, 2009

Very rarely does a project as unique as REPO come along. It’s not just sci-fi, it’s not just goth-horror, it’s not just fantasy, and it most certainly is NOT a musical. REPO is a rock opera that defies the conventional genre cage. The entire story is told through music, just like an opera. Only, to quote the creators, “This isn’t your parent’s opera.” In this rock opera narrative that has been 10 years in the making, co-composers/writers Darren Smith and Terrance Zdunich have managed to perfectly blend together a sundry of musical styles that will leave your soul begging for more!

I had the amazing opportunity to work as an actress in both the original stage play in NYC and the film, but I was also able to be “instrumental” during pre-production as a vocalist and as the music assistant. One of my childhood dreams came true the moment I was on the other side of the glass with headphones on and a mic in front of my face…I, LOVED, IT. I repeat…Loved it!

As a music assistant, my duties included but were definitely not limited to: creating detailed music spreadsheets for the music producer (jam master Joseph Bishara) and sound engineers (headed up by the inconquerable Chris Spilfogel); creating music books for the director, the composers, the music producers, the rehearsal accompanist and the cast members; and my personal favorite…comping vocals for the final mixes that would then be acted to during filming!

As an actress, I played one of Rotti’s (the story’s villain played by Paul Sorvino!) Henchgirls. We are his personal bodyguards and lethal assassins. In fact, I like to think we even make the Repo Men scared. 😉 I spent my filming days tromping around in 4-inch heeled boots, fishnets, bootyshorts, a side-arm and a shot gun! My fellow Henchie and I were supposed to be clones, so we were constantly practicing our synchronized movements together and by the last day of filming, at the top of a shot, we started walking and tripped at the exact, same moment. That, my friends, earned applause!

Paul Sorvino/Alisa Burket

Alisa Burket/Paul Sorvino/Andreja Punkris

Just Henchin'

REPO stars Alexa Vega (Spy Kids trilogy), Anthony Stewart Head (Buffy The Vampire Slayer), Paul Sorvino (Goodfellas), Bill Moseley (The Devil’s Rejects), Ogre (Skinny Puppy), Sarah Brightman (The Phantom of the Opera), Paris Hilton (House of Wax) and co-creator, Terrance Zdunich.

Getting to work with everyone from the music team to the film crew, has been one of the most fulfilling experiences of my life! Thank you to Carl Mazzacone, Darren Bousman, Dan Hefner and most importantly, Darren Smith and Terrance Zdunich for making this dream a reality.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2009 5:15 pm

    that’s cool. i saw REPO!. Amazing work was put into it.

  2. Michael permalink
    February 26, 2009 1:55 pm

    I watched Repo a few days ago and loved it. It was definitely unique and I could watch it over and over again. There aren’t very many movies that keep me interested right from the opening scene until the credits. I would’ve liked to see more of Rotti’s guards. They’re just gorgeous!

  3. Cassandra permalink
    January 12, 2010 11:08 pm

    HA! I found this by looking for pictures so I could be a REPO henchgirl for Halloween (or for one of the many shadow shows). It was a little part, a quiet part, but damn, they were one of the best characters in the whole movie! Definitely one of my very favorite. So, good job! -applaud-

  4. Lindsey permalink
    April 19, 2016 12:02 pm

    I found this page while looking for lipstick references! You wouldn’t happen to remember the brand or color………?

  5. Alisa permalink*
    April 20, 2016 11:55 am

    Sadly no. If I remember correctly, they used a dark color tone for the lipstick base, then a clear light gloss and then coat on metallic dark blue, loose powder eyeshadow. I think that’s how it was done! Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

